Winter

26 Jul

Yesterday I dressed like winter.

20090724a
White printed singlet ✿ gift (Thailand)
White star jacket ✿ JJS
Denim skirt ✿ Fox
Grey leggings (70 denier) ✿ 3Dots
Silver flats ✿ Cotton On
Red bronze bus necklace ✿ gift (Bugis Village)
Brown bag ✿ Bugis Village

20090724b

20090724c

20090724d

20090724f

And The Boy dressed like spring.

(Probably the reason why I was the only one afflicted with a whole day’s worth of sinus and scaring people with flu symptoms heehehe!)

Also, I was tagged by Catherine from the renegade bean with the Kreativ Blogger award, and part of its package is for me to list seven interesting things about myself.

Nominee Rules: • Thank the person who nominated you for the award• Copy the logo and place it on your blog• Link to the person who nominated you for this award• List seven things about yourself that people might find interesting• Nominate and post links to the seven Kreativ Bloggers you nominate• Leave a comment on each of the blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.

So here goes!

kreativ_blogger

I don’t remember this, but my family recounted that in the past I used to love wearing a particular puffy, itchy, scratchy dress out. They said that my vanity overruled comfort. Personally, I think I was just deprived of girly things.

I started taking note of the way I dress when I started posting to the wonderful w_r community last year. Being in art school helped a lot because people are more accepting and there is a lot of inspiration to draw from :P

I have a drawer full of leggings and socks. Recently two of my friends from different cliques came back from overseas and bought leggings for me as souvenirs. Apparently I am known as the girl who would wear leggings that they would never dare to wear… said drawer is about to burst very soon XDDD

When I buy clothes, part of the deciding factor is whether it would be a hassle to wash; this usually rules out glitter and sequins. Another part is its ability to be worn without being ironed :P (which shouldn’t be surprising if you already know the depths– or lack thereof- of my laziness ^^;)

There was no make up when I was growing up, largely because my mum is a tomboy (when she took us out for meals in the past all of us would burst into hysterics whenever the waiters called her ‘sir’). My first taste of a lipstick came from the tip of a traditional lipstick brush when I visited my grandaunt who lived in Chinatown. Her adopted daughter applied a bright shade of red for me in the toilet. I was so happy.

When I was younger, my father brought my younger brother and I to China during winter. We rode horses up the mountains. Unfortunately my father did not account for adequate warm clothes for young children and packed too little. He also did not pack socks. My brother turned blue. The entire tour bus took pity on us when we got back and piled clothes on top of our shivering frames XDDDD

I am 168cm (5″6) tall. Most people don’t notice it until they’re right next to me and then they exclaim their amazement (because chances are that I’m taller than most Asian females). I blame the big head for the disillusionment. The bad thing about this is that dresses become mini-dresses. The good thing is that I have another excuse to wear leggings :P

I think that’s seven. I tried to make it clothes related :P Although as with my previous memes, the tag ends here but feel free to try this because it’s fun! I had a good time chuckling after remembering some of the childhood memories XDDD

6 Responses to “Winter”

  1. The Clothes Horse July 26, 2009 at 7:14 am #

    Awesome top! You find the coolest prints.
    My family always remembers all the terrible things I insisted on wearing when I was younger…

  2. piglet July 26, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    I LOVE you necklace! So cute.
    And the story of you and your brother turning blue with cold – you poor wee things! But such a cute story.

  3. layia July 26, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    Interesting! I remember freezing last summer in our first camping trip. Uncool.
    Great top by the way!

  4. Monica July 26, 2009 at 11:09 pm #

    Nice prints. I don’t like buying clothes that need ironing either. I don’t know even know how to iron. I guess I’m too lazy to learn.

  5. catherine_sr. July 28, 2009 at 1:41 am #

    I had fun reading your answers! I’m pretty lazy about clothing care, too… unfortunately I am also lazy about keeping this in mind when I go shopping. I have so many dry clean only/cotton weave/lace-y things that it drives me crazy. I don’t know why I torture myself like this!

  6. eyeliah August 4, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    my tights/socks drawer is bursting too! lol

Leave a Reply

