Liz

27 Feb

So I’ve a stash of fabric from everytime I go wandering around town peering at shops which sell cloth, and decided to use some of them as a backdrop. Unfortunately, I think that you have to have a minimum of 3 meters in length to be able to have a cloth backdrop and stand straight. Learn something new everyday :P


Brown crochet top // gift (China)
Green patterned skirt // Topshop
Black elastic belt // Purpur
Brown heels // MUJI
Black & grey ribbon hair clip // gift (Bangkok)
Camera ring // gift (Bangkok)


I cannot express my love for this pair of MUJI heels. The heels are concealed, and the texture and shade of this brown appeals so much to me because of it’s uniqueness, and the back is really comfortable and doesn’t chafe at all. Too bad I have to bandage my little toes to protect them from the sides because the fan-like shaped of my toes and heels don’t really go well together. I still remember that I was empathetic with the witches in Roald Dahl’s The Witches when he described their feet as wide and flat (though that was because they had no toes, but the general shape was the same :P)


Lovely Bangkok items from my friend! <3

Granted that even my friends sometimes call me a hygiene freak, but I’m genuinely curious over how virtually everyone in the west wears their shoes indoors and even on the beds. Are the streets super clean, or do you wash your floors/change your bedsheets after every time you step on it??? I tried searching for answers online but no one said anything about transferring dirt from public toilets into the house and what you do about it…

17 Responses to “Liz”

  1. eyeliah February 28, 2010 at 2:50 am #

    the sitting poses are cute, I’m glad you didn’t have enough fabric. eww, I would not wear my shoes in the house or on sheets – ewww!

    • ★ren February 28, 2010 at 9:58 pm #

      Haha thank you!

      I admit that I was flabbergasted when I saw how prevalent wearing shoes indoors was in many wardrobe photos, but the difference in culture is very interesting, and wanting to know how people who wear shoes indoors deal with dirt in the house has been at the back of my mind for a few months now ^^

  2. EmilyKennedy February 28, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    I really love your green skirt. It’s super cute on you and the pattern is so lovely. Great idea with the cloth backdrop!

    In my house we have hardwood floors, which we sweep all the time. We usually leave mucky shoes at the door, and walk around in flip flops or slippers. If I were to wear shoes on the bed, I would only wear them on a made bed, and make sure to wash the duvet cover when I was done. But also, since we don’t eat off the floor, or eat things that fall on the floor, there’s minimal hygiene threat.

    • ★ren March 3, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

      Thank you! My mum wears bedroom slippers in the house too, though the rest of us don’t. Sometimes we even eat things that fall onto the floor, after a thorough rinsing. It all depends on how expensive said morsel of food is XDDD

  3. dodgycupcake March 1, 2010 at 6:03 am #

    I love the backdrop fabric!

    I am sort of a hygiene freak too…I keep my shoes in my closet just so that they are part of the outfit-choosing process, but I only put them on when I’m going out the door. I clean my floors about 2-3 times a month to compensate for this (and for general dust). I would never wear shoes on my bed, or even dirty socks! I actually feel weirdly about walking around my house with bare feet or clean socks, so I usually wear slippers.

    • ★ren March 3, 2010 at 10:58 pm #

      Thank you~~

      We have a shoe cupboard in the house but it’s near the main door and never in the bedroom/near clothes. I like the idea that you’re able to choose your shoes together with your outfits though, I sometimes find myself at a loss because there’s no mirror anywhere near the shoe cupboard ^^;

  4. Meg March 1, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    I love your skirt. And I don’t think too many people wear shoes in the house here in Canada. I just put them on if I’m doing an outfit shot, but other than that, I don’t wear them inside. Especially not in bed!

    • ★ren March 3, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

      Ah I see, I guess I was wrong with my assumption of indoor shoe-wearing! Thank you for enlightening me :DD

  5. Stel March 1, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    this is such a good idea, and looks lovely too. Your outfit looks gorgeous too!

    Stel xx

  6. wulan,lemonzest March 2, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    great skirt ren.. i love the colour and it’s really fabulous on u.. where are u from anyway?

    http://wulanasihsetyarini.wordpress.com/

  7. Elaine, clothed much March 3, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    Wow! I love this!! The green with the muted color looks fabulous! And those heels really are lovely. I want them for myself! :D

    I don’t wear shoes inside.. I think it’s gross too! But then again, I am really OCD about having clean feet as well…

    • ★ren March 3, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

      Wow, thank you so much!

      Yea sometimes I catch myself going overboard when I find myself washing my hands and feet in the toilet for the umpteenth time in a day… >_<

  8. piglet March 3, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    I want those shoes, how adorable! that fabric is so pretty too, will you make anything with it?

  9. elizabees March 7, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    I love this outfit so much, your outfits always are inspiring me! But my word, you are looking super skinny! /motherly worrying

    Yeah, I’m also from Canada, and wearing shoes indoors is just too strange, whenever I go to the states, people make fun of me for taking off my shoes.

    • ★ren March 12, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

      Hi! Lol even I worry about my state of skinniness sometimes, but I suppose I get it from my dad. Even my bro lamented over not having enough build for muscles, although I think he’s done alright being lean and not looking like he’s pumped on protein. But anyway, rest assured I’m eating well! Just don’t throw me into the sea overnight XDD

      Aww, that’s pretty mean of them. Although people make it a habit to wear shoes indoors, I wouldn’t walk barefooted in their house because it’d be too dirty :S

  10. La Historiadora de Moda March 10, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    You look seriously gorgeous in these photos! I love the green skirt and those shoes!

  11. parajumpers sale February 4, 2013 at 3:20 am #

    What i do not realize is in fact how you are not actually much more well-liked than you might be now. You are so intelligent. You know therefore considerably in the case of this matter, produced me for my part imagine it from so many numerous angles. Its like women and men are not interested until it’s one thing to do with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. Always care for it up!
    parajumpers sale http://www.parajumpersforsale.com/

Leave a comment